Baked Apple Custard (Pie)

The other day I saw an impressively large bag of apples in the local organic supermarket with a ‘25% off’ tag on it.

Anything smacking of discounts is like a flower to a bee for me.  The apples looked fine enough, and the price tag even better, so I grabbed them.

It’s been a madly busy week trying to deal with a load of red tape for my Canadian visa.  And when I say a load, I mean a load.  So, unfortunately the poor apples sat there for a few days until they were deserving of a ‘50% off out-of-date goods” tag.

It’s been a while since I made anything remotely dessert-like, so I figured the apples could contribute to the reversal of  any charges of cruelty levied against me by my super sweet-toothed boyfriend.  He wasn’t feeling too well tonight, so I thought this could contribute towards a cure – an apple a day and all that…

x

INGREDIENTS – 1 dozen large apples, moist sugar to taste, 1 small teacupful of cold water, the grated rind of one lemon, 1 pint of milk, 4 eggs, 2 oz. of loaf sugar.

x

Ah, my old friend ‘moist sugar’.  I still haven’t tracked down the German equivalent, so I decided to chance my arm by using regular raw sugar (I figured that the moisture of the apples would be more than enough to compensate for the lack of moisture from the sugar).

When it came to the custard, I decided to use Mrs Beeton’s regular custard recipe (with the lemon brandy flavouring – see Day 91 for more details) – there’s not much difference aside from the sugar level.

This pie came out of the oven such a delightful toasty-yellow colour – it looked utterly delicious even before I tasted it.

And it was.

“Bit eggy though, isn’t it?” commented my grumpy not-well boyfriend as his spoon cut through the custard topping.

“It’s supposed to be that way,” I shot back at him.  “Anyway, it tastes good to me!”

This is a fantastic dessert, with or without ice-cream.  I didn’t overload the apple base with sugar, so it came out with a nice balance of custard and apple (the hint of lemon in the apple gives it a somewhat sophisticated air).

x

Baked Apple Custard (Recipe 1389): http://www.mrsbeeton.com/29-chapter29.html#1389

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

