Lemon Brandy Custard

I know I’ve done Custard here before – but this is Lemon Brandy Custard.  Made from my very own (well, Mrs Beeton’s very own) Lemon Brandy plus her regular custard recipe.

Instead of using the custard as a sweet sauce for dessert, I used it this time as a topping for Baked Apple Custard (see Day 89).  The instructions for putting together the custard in that recipe weren’t specified, so I played it safe and turned to her other custard recipe for guidance.  As a flowing sauce or as a baked topping, it works really well.

x

INGREDIENTS – 1 pint of milk, 2 eggs, 3 oz. of pounded sugar, 1 tablespoonful of brandy. [Lemon Brandy was used in this case ]

x

According to this recipe, you’re supposed to faff about with various saucepans full of boiling water etc. – but I decided to take a risk and just do it all in one saucepan, at a reduced heat.

“Can’t hurt to try,” my boyfriend commented dubiously.

To my great delight, it worked perfectly. I had to continually whisk for a few minutes to ensure it wouldn’t burn, or clump, or whatever it is that custard does if it doesn’t work perfectly, but the frothy, thick sauce that greeted me at the end of 3 or 4 minutes’ worth of whisking made it all worth while.

Normally when I decide to ‘cheat’ or take shortcuts with a recipe, the outcome ensures that I abundantly regret not listening to the author.  This was the first time I could remember where cheating actually worked in my favour.

However, as already mentioned in Day 89, my boyfriend complained that it was “too eggy”.

“What’s that supposed to mean?” I grumped.  ‘Why is everything just ‘OK’, ‘alright’ or ‘fine’?  Why?  Why? Why can’t things be ”really good”?”

“Hey,” he cried, “Sometimes I say something’s really good.  Sometimes.  And when I say it, because I don’t often say it, that’s how you know I really mean it”

I think at this point that I just have to accept that we’re always going to view food in totally different ways.  I see it as something exciting, he sees it as fuel.  But, at least I have the comfort of knowing, if he doesn’t like something, I can always blame it on Mrs Beeton.

Well, sometimes, anyway.  And, as I realised afterwards, two opinions about the same dish are far better than one – it makes the review more objective, if you will.

But still… sometimes…!

Lemon Brandy Custard (Recipe 404): http://www.mrsbeeton.com/10-chapter10.html#404

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Lemon Brandy Custard”

  1. Day 163: Apricot Tart with a Shuffle « Mrs Beeton in 365 Days Says:

    […] really liked it.  I accompanied it with Mrs Beeton’s custard, which I’ve made before (https://mrsbeetonin365days.wordpress.com/2010/02/27/day-91-lemon-brandy-custard/).   This time, unfortunately, I curdled it ever so slightly – but I sploshed enough brandy […]

Leave a Reply

