Scrumptious (If Slightly Sweet) Gravy

The other day, I made a small quantity of ‘Burnt Onion For Gravies’ (Day 93).

Although I had serious doubts about it at first (I mean, who eats burnt onion?), the end product is anything but burnt – or even resembling anything like onion.  Instead, it’s a brown sauce-type concoction with a sweet, vinegary scent and taste.  I keep it in the fridge, where it now resembles molasses in look and feel.

I decided to try it out tonight in my own homemade gravy, to see if it materially benefited the base flavour.

x

Homemade gravy:  1 heaped teaspoon of flour, 1 pinch each of: curry powder, paprika and pepper, two good pinches of salt, several drops of soy sauce for colour, 1 1/2 cups of vegetable stock, a little vegetable stock powder

x

To this I added 1/2 a tablespoon of burnt onion sauce (well, it’s more like a syrup, really).  Then, rather rashly, I added another 1/2 tablespoon and broke Gordon Ramsay’s cardinal rule:  “Taste it, you donkey!”

I served this with pork (for my boyfriend) and a vegetable schnitzel (for me).

“It’s good.  Um… it’s a bit sweet though,” he commented.  Which surprised me, given that his sweet-ometer is set to ‘off-the-scale’ most of the time.

It was totally my fault.  The gravy was actually quite tasty, but I overpowered it with too much burnt onion sauce.

The trick is to go easy with it – a teaspoon or so enhances the taste. whilst a tablespoon just makes it a little too sweet.

Bad hausfrau that I am.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

