Royal Coburg Pudding

With a name like that, how could I resist making such a pudding?  The very name conjures up a deliciously rich, creamy and, well, sumptuous dessert fit for a king.

Visions of a pleased grin and hearty thanks from my normally pernickity hausherr spurred me on to try this.

x

INGREDIENTS – 1 pint of new milk, 6 oz. of flour, 6 oz. of sugar, 6 oz. of butter, 6 oz. of currants, 6 eggs, brandy and grated nutmeg to taste.

x

The great thing about this dessert is that it takes almost no time to put together.

And, although it didn’t taste too sweet when I stuck a curious finger into the mix and gave it a quick lick, I figured, what does it matter, this is a royal pudding.

But – what a royal flop.

To be fair, my boyfriend very nicely (he’s still continuing on his reformed path of more diplomatic feedback – I really  hope it lasts) suggested the error was probably on my side.

‘Why did you divide it by 6?  That’s probably what the problem is.”

There’s only the two of us, so I couldn’t justify using up 6 eggs, a pint of milk, etc., all for the sake of a dish that, based on past indications, there was a 86.3% chance of being rejected outright by my boyfriend.  As I’m the one who manages the household accounts, the weekly menu and shopping list, there was no way I was going to take that risk.

Within a few minutes of being in the oven, however, I guessed that something wasn’t quite right.  Namely, the damn thing wasn’t rising.

Why?

Even before they (I’d divided the mix into two pudding dishes) had fully cooked, both the look on my boyfriend’s face and my own gut feeling told me to turn off the oven and not waste any more power on them.

This is what they looked like when I dolefully withdrew them from the oven:

“Never mind,” he consoled me.  “So, is there any ice-cream left in the freezer?”

Normally I don’t eat too much ice-cream, but this was such a disappointment that I joined him in the supermarket-provided dessert.

Ho hum.

xx

Royal Coburg Pudding (Recipe 1260): http://www.mrsbeeton.com/27-chapter27.html#1260

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

