Pork Cutlets

x

OK.  So it’s not exactly like returning home from war, granted.

My boyfriend was away for the last two days, running a workshop.  The sight of him rising at 4.45am (no, sorry, 4.52am – ”Just one round of snooze, I promise” he muttered, thumping the button desperately) on his day of departure was something not seen very often around here.  I, meanwhile, instantly sprang out of bed – never mind that it was an hour before my usual rising time – and sprightly hopped along to the kitchen to make him a cup of coffee.  I think he might have hated me at that moment.

I enjoyed the bliss of having the house to myself, but I was beginning to look forward to him walking through the door.  Uno sucks when you play it on your own.

x

x

I felt the returning hero – well, in this case, English trainer – deserved a nice tasty treat to welcome him home.  No, not that sort of treat.

x

INGREDIENTS – The remains of cold roast loin of pork, 1 oz. of butter, 2 onions, 1 dessertspoonful of flour, 1/2 pint of gravy, pepper and salt to taste, 1 teaspoonful of vinegar and mustard.

x

There are times when I love cooking up a feast, and there are times when I think ‘Sod it, enough of this already!’   Today is one of the latter days.   I managed to lazily slap a pork cutlet on the bench to defrost this morning, but other than that, I wasn’t willing to invest very much effort on this hot summer’s day.

I figured Mrs Beeton wouldn’t mind if I used a fresh cutlet instead of the remains of cold pork.

x

x

Given the quantity of onions, I’m assuming this recipe was meant to feed 2-4 people.  Or else, someone who really doesn’t mind the smell and taste of onion.  As I’m vego and my boyfriend probably ate all the hotel’s cake (yet again), I pared it down to just one onion.

The 1/2 pint of gravy I made myself from my own recipe, but the rest I followed as per Mrs Beeton’s instructions (well, except for the cold pork part…  And, why always so much butter?? I used slightly less than the stated quantity.  I already think that Mrs Beeton is making me fat.  I don’t need any more help, thank you very much).

x

I managed to get both a meat and vegetarian portion out of the onion and gravy.  I can’t say tofu is the most exciting stuff on the planet, but boy did this sauce perk that slab of white right up.

My boyfriend enjoyed it.  I enjoyed it.  You’d enjoy it, too.

x

Pork Cutlets (Recipe 796): http://www.mrsbeeton.com/17-chapter17.html#796

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

